Xbox port

General forum for 4DO
incrediclint

Xbox port

Postby incrediclint » Mon Oct 31, 2011 6:32 pm

I'd like to have a go at porting 4DO/Freedo to xbox but I'm completely new to emulator coding. I've got everything needed to do the port and thorough experience in DirectX/D3D coding, I am however not to familiar with the 3do hardware nor the freedo core library. Any chance you could give me some clues about it's usage?

I know I'll have to write Xbox SDK/DX8 wrappers for freedo code, I just don't know what code does what in freedo. Hoping your guidance can save me some headaches/time. :)

EDIT: I realize the performance will more then likely be horrible, but I'd like to atleast get it to run and then come back and do optimizations later.
BryWI

Re: Xbox port

Postby BryWI » Mon Oct 31, 2011 6:59 pm

Johnny might have some more information for you but if you look in the SVN there is a DOC folder with a bunch of information. Im not sure if it's what you are looking for but it might be a start.

I also have a feeling that you might get some questions since you have experience in DirectX/D3D coding. It's not my call (nor my emulator :D ), but some help might be needed in that area with some quirks and getting hardware acceleration working (that might be further down the road yet though).

If the docs do not help and/or there is specific questions, post them and hopefully Johnny can give you an answer.
Johnny
Site Admin

Postby Johnny » Wed Nov 02, 2011 4:35 am

I'd be happy to help out. I didn't learn all this 3DO-specific domain knowledge for nothin!

To start you off, 4DO uses the source code from FreeDO's core emulation. If you get 4DO's source, you'll see being compiled and created into a DLL called FreeDOCore.dll. So, my advice and input for you would really be tailored depending on how you architect the XBox port...